You are here

Penmanship Contest


Congratulations to the Optimist Club of Niles 2011 penmanship contest winners!  The fifth-grade students were honored at a Village of Niles Board Meeting where they received a $100 savings bond along with a certificate of accomplishment.  

Pictured in the bottom row is our winners (left to right).  Zolo Sodnomjamts (Washington School).  Maddie McEnany (St. juliana).  Jackie Buczkowski (Nelson School).  Top Row (left to right).  John Jekot (Optimist Club President).  Louella B. Preston (Village Trustee).  Dean Strzelecki, Police Chief and Optimist Member).  Rich Mangold (Optimist Member).  Jerry Szczepanski (Optimist Club).  Robert M. Callero (Mayor).


The Optimist Club of Niles honored the winners of their annual handwriting contest at the May 25,2010 Village Board Meeting. Fifth-graders Sasha Paje, Natalia Pieczonka, and Michael Valdez were awarded $100.00 U.S. savings bonds and a Certificate of Accomplishment.

Pictured left to right: John Jekot (Optimist Club), Jerry Szczepanski (Optimist Club), Trustee Louella B. Preston and Mayor Robert M. Callero. And, the winners are: Michael Valdez (St. Juliana School); Natalia Pieczonka (Washington School); and Sasha Paje (Mark Twain School).



Eileen Mulroe from St. Juliana, one of our co-winners, in our 2009 penmanship contest.  Eileen was honored at a Village of Niles Board meeting on May 26, 2009.  Winners were given a $100.00 savings bond, along with a certificate of accomplishment. 

Others in picture are (left to right) John Jekot, President of Optimist Club of Niles. Eileen Mulroe. Jerry Szczepanski, Optimist Club Secretary and Penmanship Contest Chair. Mayor Bob Callero, Village of Niles.